Image 1 of 1
USA. Colorado state. Denver. Worker on his knees inside the building of City and County of Denver. Four flags, Usa, Denver, France and Italy. A microphone and a stand used for media conferences. The flag of the City and County of Denver, Colorado, was designed by North Denver high school student, Margaret Overbeck, and adopted in 1926. A zigzag white stripe horizontally separates a blue field above, in which is centered a yellow circle, from a red field below, together forming a stylized depiction of the sun in a blue sky above snow-capped mountains. The color yellow symbolizes gold in the state's hills, and red the colored earth to which the word Colorado refers. The circle's centered position symbolizes Denver's central location within the state. The white zigzag symbolizes Colorado's Native American heritage. The national flag of the United States of America, often referred to as the American flag, consists of thirteen equal horizontal stripes of red (top and bottom) alternating with white, with a blue rectangle in the canton (referred to specifically as the "union") bearing fifty small, white, five-pointed stars arranged in nine offset horizontal rows of six stars (top and bottom) alternating with rows of five stars. 18.12.2014 © 2014 Didier Ruef