Image 1 of 1
Nagorno-Karabakh, also known as Artsakh, is a landlocked region in the South Caucasus. Stepanakert is the capital and the largest city of the Republic of Artsakh (better known as Nagorno-Karabakh). Armenian Apostolic Church. Three young men pray at " Holy Mother of God Cathedral ", also known as Surb Astvatsamor Hovanu Cathedral. The church - under construction for 12 years - was consecrated on April 7, 2019. Nagorno-Karabakh is a disputed territory, internationally recognized as part of Azerbaijan, but most of the region is governed by the Republic of Artsakh (formerly named Nagorno-Karabakh Republic), a de facto independent state with Armenian ethnic population. Since 1994, regular peace talks between Armenia and Azerbaijan mediated by the OSCE Minsk Group have failed to result in a peace treaty.  6.10.2019 © 2019 Didier Ruef