Image 1 of 1
Spain. Basque Country. Hondarribia (Spanish: Fuenterrabía; French: Fontarrabie) is a town in Gipuzkoa, Province. Crowd of people during Aberri Eguna. Elderly men and woman, inflatable balloons and puppets faces on wooden sticks. Aberri Eguna ("Fatherland Day") which is a celebration day and set of meetings coinciding with Easter Sunday organized mainly by the Basque nationalist movement. It has since become the unofficial Basque national holiday. An old man wears the traditional basque beret. A beret is a soft, round, flat-crowned cap, usually of woven, hand-knitted wool, crocheted cotton, wool felt, or acrylic fibre. The Basque Country (Euskadi, País Vasco, Pays Basque), officially the Basque Autonomous Community (Euskal Autonomia Erkidegoa, Comunidad Autónoma Vasca, CAV) is an autonomous community in northern Spain. It includes the Basque provinces of Álava, Biscay, and Gipuzkoa. The Basque Country or Basque Autonomous Community was granted the status of nationality within Spain, attributed by the Spanish Constitution of 1978. The autonomous community is based on the Statute of Autonomy of the Basque Country, a foundational legal document providing the framework for the development of the Basque people on Spanish soil. 21.04.92 © 1992 Didier Ruef