Image 1 of 1
Nagorno-Karabakh, also known as Artsakh, is a landlocked region in the South Caucasus. Stepanakert is the capital and the largest city of the Republic of Artsakh (better known as Nagorno-Karabakh). Soldiers with flowers on a sunny Sunday morning at War Memorial. Ceremony for Ashot  Ghulyan (1959-1992), also known as Bekor (Shard). He was an Armenian military leader, killed during the Nagorno-Karabakh war (1988 -1994), and awarded the Hero of Artsakh honorary title. Nagorno-Karabakh is a disputed territory, internationally recognized as part of Azerbaijan, but most of the region is governed by the Republic of Artsakh (formerly named Nagorno-Karabakh Republic), a de facto independent state with Armenian ethnic population. Since 1994, regular peace talks between Armenia and Azerbaijan mediated by the OSCE Minsk Group have failed to result in a peace treaty. The territory is under the control of the Artsakh Defense Army (which is backed up by Armenian Army) due to the ongoing territorial disputes with Azerbaijan. 6.10.2019 © 2019 Didier Ruef